Chairman Salmon Congratulates New Burmese President Htin Kyaw

Mar 16, 2016
Press Release

Washington, D.C. — Rep. Matt Salmon (AZ-05), chairman of the Subcommittee on Asia and the Pacific, today released the following statement on the election of Burma’s new President.

“I offer my congratulations to Htin Kyaw on his election as President by the Union Parliament of Burma and Henry Van Thio on his election as second vice president. The election of Burma’s first civilian president in decades is yet another important milestone on the country’s transition to democracy. I am encouraged, and support a smooth transition to the newly elected government when it takes office April 1.

“The United States Congress looks forward to working closely with the new National League for Democracy-led government and the people of Burma in their pursuit of democracy, development, reconciliation, and reform.”

Rep. Matt Salmon (AZ-05) serves on the House Committee on Foreign Affairs as Chairman of the Subcommittee on Asia and the Pacific. He is also a member of the House Committee on Education and the Workforce.
Follow him on
Facebook and Twitter.